Derby, Tasmania, is a little town of only 200 people, which was a thriving tin mining town back in the 1800s. It is located on the Ringarooma River and the Tasman Highway in the northeastern section of Tasmania. Every year the town hosts the Derby
The Tin Centre
The Tin Centre is a tin mine museum that offers a multimedia presentation that teaches all about tin mining, including the disaster that took place in 1929 when the town's dam broke and killed 14 people. The museum sits surrounded by a reconstructed tin mining town. You can also pick up pans for gem hunting in the river, a procedure called "fossicking."
On the highway leading south out of town, tourists can see a huge rock that has been painted by hand to resemble a fish.
Derby Schoolhouse Museum
The Derby Schoolhouse Museum is located in the old schoolhouse, which was built in 1887. The museum contains memorabilia from the history of Derby, as well as a collection of gemstones and an authentic classroom.